A Review of Sergei Dovlatov’s Ours

...

31 October 2009

Happy Halloween, and all that.  To New Yorkers, Happy Third Game of the World Series, and Happy Day Before the Marathon.

I realize that I’m often announcing here news about me me me, read this, I wrote it, etc.  But if you haven’t yet, check out my review of Sergei Dovlatov‘s Ours: A Russian Family Album over at The Millions.  I urge you to do so as a kind of celebration with me; I find book reviews very difficult to write, and I think I finally “hit it” with this one, meaning I think I was able to convey the essence of my love for it (in less than 2,000 words).  “Essence” is a difficult thing to convey, not to mention “love.”  With books, I find it nearly impossible.

And Dovlatov’s work really is something.

 

 

Leave a Reply

