HeWrites/SheWrites

...

11 February 2010

Following up (sort of) on yesterday’s post, I’ve recently discovered an online writers community called She Writes.  Its self-proclaimed mission:

A unique community where women writers can create networks and get the services and support they need to make every stage of their writing lives easier, She Writes is a business on a mission: to forever transform the landscape in which women write, publish, and read.

Launched in June 2009, She Writes currently has about 7,000 members, and seems to be growing rapidly. So, clearly, there are women writers out there who identify as “women writers.” (Over the next few weeks I’m posting there as part of their “Countdown to Publication” series.)

Like most things, I suppose I see it as “both/and.”  Self-categorization can be limiting; at the same time, there is a sense in which each of the multiple facets of one’s identity wants to be specifically nourished.

Vaguely related to this, I have posted at The Millions yesterday and today a twopart interview with David Shields, focused on his forthcoming book Reality Hunger: A Manifesto.  It strikes me that this is a book that seems to grab the attention of male readers more than female.  Am I wrong about this?  Does it matter?

I know Zadie Smith wrote an essay about the state of the novel, sparked by RH:AM, which appears in her new essay collection (and can no longer be found online — I just tried).  I think of Smith as one of the most beloved young female writers by male readers; I’m not sure why I think this, or if it’s even true.

Leave a Reply

