Fall Picks: Donald Hall’s Life Work

...

15 September 2010

I’m doing a two-part “Staff Pick” for September at The Millions:  two books about work.  Today, a brief look at Donald Hall‘s Life Work, a book that’s been vital to me since my early years of “Am I a writer?” angst.  Also, very much my inspiration for lighting out to the country and finding my (slow) rhythms for work.  This, along with Annie Dillard’s The Writing Life would likely be among my top 5 desert-island books.

Next week, I’ll write about Matthew Crawford‘s Shop Class as Soulcraft — wherein “a philosopher-motorcycle mechanic makes the case for the cognitive riches of manual work, for living concretely in an abstract world.”

Leave a Reply

