I Bought a Chair

...

11 November 2010

Why, you ask, am I sharing this with you?

Well, it’s kind of a seminal thing for me.  I wrote here a while back about my ergonomic issues (back, wrists, etc).  I ended up buying a $25 exer-ball and using that as my desk chair.  It’s been working pretty well.  But I still had no good comfortable chair in which to sit and read.  Plus, my bed kind of sucks, i.e. the mattress not so great, so reading in bed isn’t particularly comfortable either.

I own very little new furniture.  (Do I own any new furniture?  Oh, I recently bought a TV cart.)  I’ve always been happy to take the charming cast-offs of friends and family.  I’ve never really been able to afford new furniture.  But this chair thing.  I’ve been thinking about it for a long, long time.  I should do it, it will be an investment in my back, in my life as a reader and writer.  So recently, finally, I took the plunge.

It was a floor model, sold on ebay for a steal.  I guess it’s technically not “new,” but to me it definitely is.

Also of note: I think it may be the same chair as Don Draper’s office chair in Season 4 of MAD MEN.

I love this chair.

 

Leave a Reply

